© All rights reserved. NepalKhabar


G20 summit adopts New Delhi declaration


 |  Kathmandu

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, US President Joe Biden, UK PM Rishi Sunak and other dignitaries attend G20 Summit in New Delhi. ((Photo: ANI)

The Group of 20 countries have adopted the New Delhi declaration, a significant victory for India’s G-20 presidency that came amid increasing tensions and divergent views over the Ukraine conflict, The Hindu reported. 

The announcement about the consensus on the declaration and its subsequent adoption came hours after India circulated a new text to the G-20 countries to describe the Ukraine conflict.

Top leaders of the world’s wealthiest economies are deliberating over pressing global challenges at the G-20 Summit in New Delhi.

Majority of priorities of the Indian G-20 presidency were aimed at benefiting the Global South or the developing countries. After much negotiation, the leaders’ declaration was drafted and adopted as all leaders have reached a consensus on the wording of the Ukraine conflict.

Earlier in the day, in a significant milestone, the African Union became a new permanent member of the grouping. It is the first expansion of the influential bloc since its inception in 1999.

In his inaugural remarks at the Summit, PM Narendra Modi asked the President of the Union of Comoros and Chairperson of the African Union (AU), Azali Assoumani, to join other leaders at the high table, making the 55-member bloc the second multi-nation grouping after the European Union to be a permanent member of the G-20.

The prime minister told the gathering that it had become a people’s G-20 in India with over 200 events held in more than 60 cities.

Mr. Modi will be holding more than 15 bilateral meetings over the two days. On Friday, he held discussions with U.S. President Joe Biden.

The leaders attending the summit include German Chancellor Olaf Scholz, French President Emmanuel Macron, British Prime Minister Rishi Sunak, Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan, Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, his Italian counterpart Giorgia Meloni, South Korean President Yoon Suk Yeol and Brazilian President Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva.

However, Chinese President Xi Jinping and Russian President Vladimir Putin are not attending the summit.


Related News

UK to tighten immigration policy, increase basic income

The United Kingdom (UK) has tightened immigration policies by introducing new rules. UK Hom…

Man stabs four to death in New York

A man wielding a steak knife killed four members of his extended family, including two children, at…

Israel-Hamas truce to continue: Israeli army

The ongoing ceasefire between Israel and Hamas has been extended by one more day.  “T…

Henry Kissinger, American diplomat and Nobel winner, dead at 100

Henry Kissinger, a controversial Nobel Peace Prize winner and diplomatic powerhouse whose service u…