© All rights reserved. NepalKhabar

Global Nepali

Gurung elected NRNA (NCC), South Korea President


 |  Seoul

Buddhi Gurung has been elected as the President of Non-Resident Nepali Association (NRNA), National Coordination Council, South Korea.

Originally from Kaski's Madi-9, Gorje, Gurung was elected as the president through the Ninth Convention of NRNA, South Korea.

The voting was held online to elect the next Executive Committee (2023-25) on July 29-30 in Seoul, South Korea.

Gurung won the presidency with 2,521 votes while his nearest rival Bipin Kumar Gurung got 1,257 votes.

Three candidates were in the fray for the post of presidency. Sanjeev Kumar Rai stood third with 988 votes.

Similarly, Parwati Moktan (Tamang) has been elected as senior vice president. She won the elections with 2,218 votes while her nearest rival Pari Gurung got 1,546 votes.

Similarly, Tara Pun Magar, Hari Prasad Bhattarai and Saroj Kumar Khadka have won the vice-president positions. They got 1,757, 1,451, 1,098 votes, respectively.

Aarati Hyolmo won the post of women vice president with 1,414 votes and Keshav Thapa was elected as general secretary with 1,511 votes.

Similarly, Purna Ram Budha got 1,699 votes and Kamal Bhandari received 1,240 votes to become secretaries.

Similarly, Bhakta Bahadur Gurung was elected as treasurer while Bishnu Budhathoki was appointed as co-treasurer. Gurung got 1,978 votes and Budhathoki obtained 1,665 votes.

Yubin Shrestha has won the position of Youth Coordinator. He received 1,814 votes. Similarly, Nila Rai has won the women's coordinator. She received 1,332 votes.

Likewise, elected members include Bindu Shah (2,206), Sapana Adhikari (2,133), Minju Gwang (1,710), Sudan Juharchan (1,618), Mangal Prasad Yonghang (1,579), Bishnu Regmi (1,491) and Bishnu Bahadur Rakhal (1,282).

Buddhi Prasad Nepal, Deepak Pun, Harkman Gurung and Roshan Sharma Paudel were elected as ICC members unopposed.

As many as 3,766 votes were cast in the convention with a total voter turnout of 4,458. This is 84.5 percent.

NRNA South Korea president Binod Kunwar and former presidents Lakshmi Gurung, Yagyaraj Subedi and others were present in the opening session of the convention.

Intellectuals in Korea, including MP Hari Dhakal of the Rastriya Swatantra Party, who was invited as a chief guest, delivered their views in the program.

Similarly, Nepali Ambassador to South Korea, Jyoti Pyakurel, was also invited as a guest of the event.

The program was inaugurated by Sushila Sripali Thakuri, Minister of State for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation of Nepal.


Related News

Businessman Ghimire: A link between Nepal and China no more

Businessman Pramod Ghimire, who established a link between Nepal and China thro…

Nepali student who went to UK four days ago passes away

A Nepali student who had gone to the United Kingdom (UK) on a student visa four days ago has passed…

Nepali marathoner Rasila Tamang wins Asia Trail Master title

Nepali runner Rasila Tamang has become the Asia Trail Master Champion. On Saturday at 6 am (loca…

Gurkhas enter the foothills of their Army career

More than 200 Gurkha recruits marked the end of their military training with a pass off parade insp…