© All rights reserved. NepalKhabar


Four ruling parties seal provincial power-sharing deal


 |  Kathmandu

(File Photo)

The four parties of the ruling coalition have reached an agreement on the power-sharing of the seven provincial governments.

CPN (Maoist Center) Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal 'Prachanda' who is also the Prime Minister, CPN (UML) Chairman KP Sharma Oli, Chairman of Janata Samajbadi Party Upendra Yadav who is also the Minister for Health and Population and CPN (Unified Socialist) Chairman Madhav Kumar Nepal struck a deal on the leadership of the provincial governments in a meeting held at Baluwatar on Monday.

As per the agreement, the Maoist Center will lead Bagmati and Lumbini provinces and the UML will take the helm at the Gandaki, Karnali, and Koshi provinces.  Likewise, Nagarik Unmukti Party will lead Sudurpaschim Province while Janata Samajbadi Party will take the helm at the Madhes Province, a source at Baluwatar said.  

"Top leaders of the ruling alliance in a meeting held in Baluwatar struck a deal on the power-sharing of the seven provincial governments," the source told Nepalkhabar.

Rastriya Swatantra Party (RSP), which is a part of the ruling coalition, did not participate in the meeting since it is not represented in any provincial assemblies.

According to the agreement between the four parties, Shalikram Jamkattel of the Maoist Center is the Chief Minister of Bagmati Province. He received a vote of confidence from the Provincial Assembly on Monday.

Likewise, the Maoist Center will form a government in Lumbini Province which is currently being led by the main opposition Nepali Congress, according to the agreement between the four ruling parties.

Party Chairman Prachanda has instructed the Karnali Province in-charge Kali Bahadur Malla to make arrangements to hand over the post of Chief Minister to the UML, accordingly. Presently, Maoist Center's Rajkumar Sharma is the Chief Minister in Karnali Province.



Related News

Deuba blasts why UML keeps silent on Bhandari’s death while in power

Nepali Congress President and former Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba has questioned why the myste…

UML conclave concludes endorsing action plan on party reform

The meeting of the National Convention Representatives Council of the CPN (UML) has concluded endor…

Diplomatic efforts underway to rescue Bipin Joshi: PM Dahal

Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ has said that the government is making di…

JSP pulls out of Lumbini govt after being denied two ministries

Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) has pulled out of the Lumbini Province government after being den…