© All rights reserved. NepalKhabar


Gandaki CM Adhikari dismissed as SC invalidates his trust vote


 |  Kathmandu

Outgoing Chief Minister of Gandaki Province, Khagaraj Adhikari. (File Photo)

The Gandaki Province government has been dissolved after the Supreme Court of Nepal invalidated the vote of confidence taken by Chief Minister Khagaraj Adhikari.  

The Supreme Court revoked the appointment of Chief Minister of Gandaki Province, Khagaraj Adhikari on the ground of not securing a majority vote during the vote of confidence. 

Hearing on the writ petition filed by Nepali Congress Parliamentary Party leader of Gandaki Province, Surendra Pandey, a joint bench of Justices Kumar Regmi and Sunil Kumar Pokharel on Monday issued the verdict revoking the appointment of Chief Minister Adhikari on the ground of not securing the vote of confidence.

With the Supreme Court’s decision, the Gandaki Province government has now been dissolved.

On May 10, Supreme Court Justice Abdul Aziz Musalman had issued an interim order on the government of Gandaki Province not to make any decisions that would have long-term impacts.

In the 60-member Province Assembly, Adhikari had got the support of 30 lawmakers including the speaker in the vote of confidence taken on May 5. Twenty seven lawmakers voted against him, while two lawmakers remained neutral. The speaker cannot participate in the vote of confidence, according to the provision. 


Related News

President Paudel and his German counterpart discuss Nepal-Germany relations

President Ramchandra Paudel and German President Dr Frank Walter Steinmeier held a meeting at the O…

President Paudel observes fallen Berlin Wall

President Ramchandra Paudel today visited various historic sites including the fallen Berlin Wall i…

China’s SC Justice Liu meets with Nepal’s Justices

A five-member delegation led by Justice of Supreme Court of China, Liu Guixiang, has arrived on an …

CPPCC Veep says, ‘China prioritizes ties with Nepal’ during courtesy call on PM Prachanda

Vice President of the National Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Confere…